My Next App

I’ve been thinking about how I would build my next killer web application, surveying what the best options are out there to get it up and running as cheaply, quickly, and cleanly as possible. So here are my thoughts on what technologies I would use:

Application Framework
Ruby on Rails 3
Application Hosting
Heroku
Database *
MongoDB OR PostgreSQL
Front-End
Haml
Sass
Compass (Blueprint CSS)
Javascript Framework
JQuery
Asset Server
Amazon S3 + Cloudfront
Source Control
Git (possibly hosted on Github)
Offsite processing
Amazon EC2

* Heroku only provides Postgres “out of the box”.

Let me know what you think!

One Comment on “My Next App”

  1. acase says:

    Yes, but what’s the killer app going to be?


Leave a Reply

